Skip to content

The Twinkie Twinkle Fizzles Out

January 18, 2012

Have you heard the horrible news yet?

Hostess has filed for bankruptcy! You know Hostess, the creator of our most beloved, delectable and mysterious-ingredient-filled snacks – HoHos, CupCakes, DingDongs, but most importantly, Twinkies.

20120117-100713.jpg

I remember being a young child in a moderately sized suburban town in the early ’90s.

My brother, a couple friends and I would walk (note: this is an unbelievable feat for a suburban-born child, the land of driving everywhere humanly possible, even if it’s just down the street) to the local grocery store Davidson’s.

With a couple dollars in hand, we each bought ourselves a Twinkie – though Butterscotch Krimpets were also a popular choice. We would sit outside on the sidewalk and enjoy the deliciously moist cake and sweet cream filling. These are fond memories of my childhood, of which I admittedly have few. That my Twinkie memories remain only shows how important the little gems are.

I have to say, while researching the possible demise of my most favored childhood snack (aside from Gushers), I came across some unsettling insights into the ingredients found therein.

There are 37 not-so-delicious ingredients listed in a Twinkie that Hostess has so graciously included, many of which are “more closely linked to rocks and petroleum than any of the four food groups,” according to Steve Ettlinger, author of Twinkie Deconstructed.

For a visual of all the ingredients found in a Twinkie, click here if you dare (or if you ever wondered what “Red 40” looks like).

All I can say after learning about what’s really inside a Twinkie is that my children will have no memories of going to Davidson’s with their friends to buy one. If I’m lucky, they’ll never know what a Twinkie is (or WAS!?).

But I’ll always think back on my Twinkie memories with love, even if they are filled with animal shortening and rocks.

Did you ever think Hostess could fold? Personally, I think it’s bananasss.

 

Leave a Reply

