Skip to content

It’s a Bird! It’s a Plane! NO!

January 19, 2012

…It’s an opossum on a train?

Early in the morning this past Wednesday, a poor little opossum was found snuggling up to the heater on the D train leaving Coney Island.

To be fair, if I were an opossum (or a human), I too would be on the first train out of Coney Island. My heart goes out to the little fella. If I were on that train, I probably would have had a full-blown panic attack, while simultaneously fighting the urge to pet him (that’s the animal-lover in me, but rogue marsupials are scary).

Probably the funniest part of the incident is that a troupe of brave NYPD officers were waiting for the cute fluffball at West 4th St., “armed with heavy-duty gloves and a canvas bag.” HOORAY NYPD! Right…?

…Wrong. “The animal bared its teeth and snarled,” according to the NY Times article, and you better believe those officers were out of there faster than you can correctly spell “opossum” (is that ‘o’ silent?). Instead, the train was hauled to the yard where animal control supposedly got him out of there.

Now, this has yet to be confirmed, so keep your eyes peeled for Oscar the Opossum (I named him), and please let me know if there are any sightings. I want to give him some nibbles of bread.

In the meantime, I’m going to stay away from the D train, and from Coney Island, because this is just bananasss. Animal-free subway rides? Yes, please! (Where are my tax dollars going???)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Debby W permalink
    January 21, 2012 10:29 am

    Perhaps we can have a city wide vote to see what animals we’d like to see on the subway. I think the city would steer clear from voting for the usual winners, rats, birds, and now opossums. I vote we see mini ponies on the subways.

  2. January 21, 2012 3:11 pm

    I would vote for puppies, lots and lots of puppies, and possibly some kittens. And if you ran for office on that platform, I would vote for YOU.

Trackbacks

  1. Big. Bad. Eww. « That's Bananasss!

Leave a Reply

