Skip to content

Home Is Where the Heart Is (Even If It Doesn’t Quite Fit)

February 7, 2012

Having gone to a college where living off campus wasn’t really an option, as well as four years of boarding school under my belt, you could say that I’ve had my fair share of dorm room experiences, dilemmas, dramas, and misadventures. I’ve lived in the tiniest of rooms, some moderatelysized rooms, and a comfortablysized room or two (meaning, I could walk around the space in circles without hitting things).

And for a college or high school situation, that’s just fine.

But I don’t want to relive those experiences in the “real world.” I mean, sure, my apartment now is teenie, but it’s not as teenie this girl’s.

Crazy Cohen, as I like to call her, lives in a 90-square-foot apartment on the Upper West Side.

Yep — she has 90 sprawling square feet of space which fits a loft bed a desk and two chairs and boasts a charming view of the streets near Lincoln Center. This is smaller than my worst dorm room ever. This also costs her $800 every month.

Now, call me silly, but I think this is just completely bananasss. Maybe it’s just because I’m moderately sane, or because I have a brain, or whatever, but I really feel like she could use her money a little better.

If she’s going to use so little space, at least don’t pay for it. Maybe take over an Ikea, or live in a Walmart. But I can assure you, paying $800/mo for a 90-square-foot apartment on the UWS is NOT WORTH IT!!!!

She IS a writer, so that could explain some of the psychotic tendencies. Good thing she is also a professional organizer. Otherwise, who knows what could happen in that little room (I changed my mind – it’s not even big enough to be called an apartment).

What’s even crazier is that her landlord wants her OUTTA THERE and is trying to – get this – raise the rent.. Are you serious!?!?!?!?!?!? I know NYC rent prices have gone out of control but…that is definitely over-the-top bananasss.

So many bananasss for this folks it’s not even funny (well, I mean, it is funny).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    February 7, 2012 10:30 pm

    Another brilliant blog entry by one of my favorite bloggers, I just hope for a blog about H20 in the near future.

  2. February 8, 2012 2:30 pm

    Hahaha you da bomb. I’ll SEE WHAT I CAN DO!

Leave a Reply

